Books, books, books: The Book Sacrifice Tag

I started browsing tags, and reached this one here, called Book Sacrifice Tags. It is basically about the worst books that you have read. So, here goes:

1) An Over-Hyped Book: Let’s start this off with a Zombie Apocalypse! Let’s say you’re in a book store, just browsing, when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK. An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hated do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?!

twilight-collage

The Twilight Saga, Stephanie Meyer

Not one, not two, not three, but four over-hyped books to throw at zombies. I got the first book as a gift, and I read it. Being the person I am, there was no way I can let things go without reading the rest of the series. I simply HAVE to know what will happen next! So I bought and read them all. To give credit where credit is due, they do look pretty in my bookcase with the black covers, but that’s where it ends for me. Die, zombies, die!

2) A Sequel: Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Insurgent

Insurgent – Veronica Roth

Don’t get me wrong. I did enjoy all books in the trilogy, and I would recommend them to anyone in a heartbeat. But I did not enjoy Insurgent as much as I thought I would. I found that most of the plot twists in the book could have been simply solved if Tris and Four were being honest with each other. That’s the only reason why this book is saving my new hair cut.

3) A Classic: Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionized literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at his face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What Classic did you chuck?

cry-the-beloved-country-paton

Cry, The Beloved Country – Alan Paton

This is supposed to be one of the iconic books in literature. I just couldn’t finish it. And I know that it is not smart to pass judgement on a book without finishing it first, but here’s what I believe: If I can’t really get through this book, then I don’t like it.

4) Your Least Favourite Book of Life!: Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you first run to, your least favourite book of all life, what book do you not fully regret lighting?

41-9b90GCvL._SL500_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-big,TopRight,35,-73_OU01_AA300_

Breaking The Rules – Barbara Taylor Bradford

I am all for happy endings, but when the book has no twist or turn, no plot, nothing that will leave you gasping and wondering if some character or the other will make, then it’s just not worth it. I picked this on up in an airport. The backcover of the book made it seem like the best story there is! Then I kept waiting for something exciting to happen, and nothing did! She met her perfect guy, they got married, and they lived happily ever after. Any plot twist got solved within a couple of pages. There was basically no motive to turn the page to know what happens. But, I did get through it, at least.

Leave a Reply

